26.5.10

Book Review: Glass Houses by Rachel Caine

College freshman Claire Danvers has had enough of her nightmarish dorm situation, where the popular girls never let her forget just where she ranks in the school's social scene: somewhere less than zero. When Claire heads off campus, the imposing old house where she finds a room may not be much better. Her new roommates don't show any signs of life, but they come out fighting when the town's deepest secrets come crawling out, hungry for fresh blood...
Glass Houses is the first in the Morganville Vampire series which consists of seven books. They caught my eye so I bought the first one for my e-reader and I was not disappointed. They are very much in the vein of Stephenie Meyer and I enjoyed Twilight so I had a feeling I would like these.
Claire Danvers carries the whole story, she is very bright, hence starting college at the age of sixteen. Her parents did not want her to attend one of the Ivy League schools too fat from home so they made her enrol at the college in Morganville, having no idea of the huge danger they were placing her in.
Morganville, initially unbeknown to Claire, is run by vampires who are allowed to pick off the college students as and when they please. To avoid becoming vampire food you have to be Protected, otherwise you are an open and easy target.
Claire discovers Morganville's secrets when she has to move in to the Glass House off campus. She fears for her life after being pushed down the stairs by Monica after making the mistake of pointing out her stupidity. Monica is Protected and very much in with the vampires; she has decided to make Claire's life hell or possibly to finish it once and for all.
The Glass House is owned by eighteen year old Michael and he lives there with his friends Shane and Eve. They have always lived in Morganville and unfortunately been on the receiving end of the vampires on more than one occasion. Although Claire is bringing much danger upon them, they set out to help her and make her aware of exactly what she is up against.
It has only taken me a couple of days to read this book, I was completely engrossed in the story. Rachel Caine keeps the plot twisting and turning until you don't really know who is actually good or bad. There were some parts of the book that had me raising my eyebrows but only as I did when reading Twilight. You have to take this book for what it is and leave your sceptical thoughts at the door. Glass Houses ends on a real cliff-hanger so I'm sure it won't be long until I start the second in the series.

3 comments:

Book Chick City said...

I'm looking forward to starting this series - have Glasses Houses on my shelf, so must get to it soon. I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

Jules said...

I was thinking of reading these, after that review i might try and pick them up sooner than later.

Dot said...

Book Chick City- I think you will really like them!

Jules- I really enjoyed this one, looking forward to starting the second book.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...